Ekiti Government upgrades Obas, grants autonomous status to five communities


Ekiti State Government has announced that the Executive Council has approved the White Paper on the Justice J.K.B. Aladejana Chieftaincy Review Commission.

According to the State Commissioner for Information and Values Orientation, Muyiwa Olumilua, the White Paper was considered and approved at the Council’s meeting on Thursday, 19th December, 2019.
The Council approved the upgrade of 11 traditional rulers to Grade A, and five others to Grade B. It also approved the autonomous status granted to five communities.

The newly upgraded *Grade A chieftaincies are:
i) Elewu of Ewu Ekiti
ii) Eleda of Eda Oniyo Ekiti
iii) Onisin of Isinbode Ekiti
iv) Apalufin of Aisegba Ekiti
v) Olosan of Osan Ekiti
vi) Onigogo of Igogo Ekiti
vii) Olupoti of Ipoti Ekiti
viii) Oluloro of Iloro Ekiti
ix) Alasa of Ilasa Ekiti
x) Onimesi of Imesi Ekiti
xi) Olusin of Usin Ekiti

And the newly upgraded Grade B chieftaincies are:
i) Elesun of Esun Ekiti
ii) Obanikosun of Ikosu Ekiti
iii) Alafon of Ilafon Ekiti
iv) Onikogosi of Ikogosi Ekiti
v) Olupole of Ipole Ekiti

Also, the State government granted five communities autonomous status, and they are:
i) Ijowa (Alajowa of Ijowa Ekiti on Grade C)
ii) Isaya (Asaya of Isaya Ekiti on Grade C)
iii) Ahan Ayegunle ( Alahan of Ahan Ayegunle Ekiti on Grade C)
iv) Owatedo (Oloja Owa of Owatedo Ekiti on Grade C)
v) Iro Ayeteju (Owa Ateju of Iro Ayeteju Ekiti on Grade C)

The Council however noted that the exercise is ongoing, and further announcements will be made in due course.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here