Abuja News

#Ekiti State Announces Committees to Develop Human Rights Action Plan.

Ekiti State Announces Committees to Develop Human Rights Action Plan

In compliance with the directive of the Governor of Ekiti State, Dr. John Kayode Fayemi to the Ministry of Justice on the need to immediately commence the assessment of current measures in place to protect and promote human rights in the state, the Honourable Attorney-General and Commissioner for Justice Ekiti State, Olawale Fapohunda today announced the composition of the Advisory and Technical Committees for the development of the State Action Plan for the Promotion and Protection of Human Rights (SAPHR)

The purpose of the action plan is to audit the human rights situation in Ekiti State, identifying areas in need of improvement while at the same time commiting the State Government to concrete measures that can be adopted to build and entrench a culture of human
rights for the enjoyment of all.

The SAPHR specifically presents an opportunity for identifying and agreeing on areas of cooperation between
government departments, the private sector, civil society in general and other role players, so that
together we can improve the protection and promotion of human rights in our state.

It will also be used by the government and the organs of civil society to monitor and assess the
observance of human rights, and to gauge the commitment of government to the protection of Human Rights.

The composition of the committees are:

Advisory Committee

Olawale Fapohunda
Attorney General & Commissioner for Justice Ekiti State


Tajudeen Akingbolu
Chairman, House of Assembly Committee on Judiciary & Legal Matters

Kola Amire Kolade
Chairman, Ekiti South-West LGA, Ekiti State

Abigail Aladejare
Vice-Chair and Chair, Human Rights Committee NBA Ado Ekiti

Biodun Adigun
Ekiti State Coordinator, National Human Rights Commission

Adeyinka Opaleke
State Coordinator,
Legal Aid Council of Nigeria, Ekiti State

Broadcasting Service of Ekiti State

Women’s Rights Advancement & Protection Alternative (WRAPA) Ekiti State

Technical Committee

Lawrence Ojo
Solicitor General & Permanent Secretary Ministry of Justice
Ekiti State


Bola Wale-Awe
Executive Secretary
Office of Public Defender

Biodun Oyeleye
SA Civil Society, Office of the Governor

Blessing Ajileye
FIDA Ekiti

Tumininu Adedeji
Founder, BIGIF

Project Coordinator
Oyeyemi Omolayo
Directorate of Citizens’ Rights,
Ministry of Justice
Ekiti State

The Committees will be inaugurated on Wednesday 1st of July 2020 at the Ministry of Justice Academy, State Secretariat Complex Ado-Ekiti by 10:00am.

Signed :

Olalekan Suleman
SA Public Education, Media & Communication,
Ministry of Justice
Ekiti State

To Top
error: Content is protected !!